Thursday, June 11, 2009

If You Build It...

Over the past few months, I've hinted about some new projects in the works. A few of you might know I started writing about marriage and St. Louis for The Examiner. Recently, a friend and I also launched a new site called

Kristie and I are hoping you'll check out and let us know what you think! We're an online magazine devoted to parenting within the St. Louis area. We touch based on childcare, products, friendships, romantic relationships, sex, education, fun stuff for you to do and alot of other topics.

From now on, my product reviews will be posted to My giveaways will also be featured there. Here's hoping you'll stop by and visit.

Oh and if you want to contact me with product reviews or anything else, you can still do so at motherofbun at gmail dot com

Take care!

Monday, June 1, 2009

Tap Into Money-Saving Solutions With PUR

Sometimes our tap water tastes sort of gross. I drink ALOT of water. Water flushes out the system but what's the point, if your water isn't so clean?

The costs of bottled water can add up. I was eyeing a PUR Water Filtration product but hadn't gotten around to doing any research. But then a few weeks ago, I was offered one and asked to review. This? Made. My. Day. Of course I said, "Sure."

I started doing the research.

Did you know that PUR Water Filtration not only saves you money but also eliminates up to 3,200 plastic water containers annually? It can also help you save up to $600 a year.

And back to the part about drinking CLEAN tap water. The Environmental Protection Agency estimates that about 20% of Americans’ lead exposure? Is from drinking is tap water. But if you've got a PUR filter, no worries. They can reduce many contaminants, including lead, microbial cysts and 99% of pharmaceuticals. (Oh yeah, did you know that there can be traces of pharmaceuticals found in tap water. Yes! Now you know why you should never flush meds down the toilet!)

The pitcher was easy to put together. And the water did taste a bit cleaner. Usually if I put a glass of unfinished water in the fridge to keep it cold, it starts to taste "stale" after a few hours. Wasn't the case with the PUR pitcher/filtration system.

And if you're a tea drinker, you also know how odd tasting water can affect the taste of your tea, lemonade or Kool-Aid. This product can filter that tap water so you can enjoy these beverages.

The PUR pitcher also came with some small bottles of a concentrated flavor so you could add a subtle taste to your water. While this is a great idea, I have had a difficult time getting the flavoring to work. It fits on the underside of the lid. A push of a button is supposed to release a tiny amount into your water. But so far, I haven't gotten it to work. But honestly? I don't do alot of flavoring anyway.

I've seen the cost of the pitcher at anywhere from $15 to $20. So the price is great and we'd gotten alot of use out of ours.

Dad's Day Gift Idea

Father's Day is coming up. And if you've got a dad in your life who loves wine, here's a way to take a vineyard with him. Check out the Little Barrel website. Lots of clothing for everyone. There's even baby stuff!

Wednesday, May 27, 2009

Jif's Natural Peanut Butter Is A Big Hit At Our House

"So how do you like the peanut butter?" I ask my son and his two friends a week ago. The trio had decided on peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for an afternoon snack. And as of this question, the kids were eating quietly - a rarity for these very verbal moppets.

"Mmmm Good," said my son as he continued to gobble up his sandwich. "Good," said another little girl. The third child said, "this is delicious." Each one asked for another sandwich.

I'd been trying Jif's Natural Creamy Peanut Butter Spread. So far it passed the kid test. Later on my husband tried the peanut butter. He didn't say anything right off. When I put the Jif Natural Creamy peanut butter back into the fridge, I stuck it next to the other peanut butter we were using. Figured a taste test would make things interesting. I didn't get a chance to do a side by side comparison with the kids or my husband. The Natural peanut butter jar was empty within three days. The other stuff? Remained. (And yes, it was opened, so they had a chance to try the stuff out.)

I get to taste the Jif Natural Creamy Peanut Butter. (Their PR peeps were kind enough to send me a small jar.) And it is pretty yummy. Smooth and creamy. Makes me want to make some peanut butter cookies. Doesn't that sound great? Mmmmm.

So overall? The peanut butter was a solid hit amongst my crew. Since peanut butter is a pantry staple at my house, I'll be buying more of Jif's newest product very soon.

Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Vote Now! Vote Often for Kellogg's Plant A Seed Program

This message is sponsored by MomCentral.

This past winter, during the 2009 Super Bowl, Kellogg's Frosted Flakes debuted a commercial calling everyone who was watching to action. The commercial was for the Plant A Seed program.

The gist of the commercial and the program is to focus on how everyone can make a difference in building stronger communities and enriching a child's life. Kellogg's wants to remind us all that kids of any age, size, and background are filled with a tremendous amount of promise and potential. And we need to give kids a place to REALIZE this.

So, 50 fields across the US are to be renovated. There have been many nominated thus far. And now Kellogg's needs YOU to help choose which fields are the most deserving. What better way to keep families (kids and parents) active and engaged? The hope is that these fields will once again become places of fun and foster a sense of community.

So click on to view the fields and find out more as to why these places are deserving a ball field makeover. Voting ends May 31st!

Monday, May 18, 2009

Pulverize Poison Ivy With Ivarest (Giveaway!)

If you've got kids who love to explore the outdoors (or you yourself like to do so) odds are at some point in time you're going to come into contact with some poisonous plants and need a little something from the Ivarest Poison Ivy product line.

Ivarest Poison Ivy Cleansing Foam is a very effective cleaner that when used immediately after exposure (or once a rash has begun) can combat the effects of poisonous plants. According to the company, "If used soon after exposure, Ivarest Poison Ivy Cleansing Foam’s special combination of cleansers lifts oily plant allergens from the skin surface to be easily washed away, minimizing any reaction and stopping the rash from spreading."

Sounds good to me. But if you've already come across the plants and you're starting to get the "itchies" the company also offers Double Relief Treatment Cream. According to the company, "As the only poisonous plant treatment that contains both an antihistamine and an analgesic, Ivarest Double Relief Formula helps stop the reaction and quickly soothes the skin. The product also features calamine to dry out the rash. Its greaseless formula is tone-neutral and easily removed with water.

Ivarest Poison Ivy Cleansing Foam retails for $5.97-$8.99. Ivarest Double Relief Formula retails for $4.37 - $6.99. Both products are available at select drug stores, supermarkets and mass retailers nationwide.

And now three MotherOfBun Reviews... Readers will each recieve these two products. Simply leave a comment on this post. Winners must be in the US and 18 years of age or older. Deadline is May 29, 2009.

Thursday, May 14, 2009

Comfort Select Pillows Are Customized And Comfy

When my hubby and I were dating, I'd often ask my husband, "why'd you pick me?" He'd reply, "Its an off-the-rack kind of world. When you go to the store, no designer has created an outfit specifically for your tastes and size. Some clothes will fit great, others not so much. You just find what you want that's the best fit for you. And then you go with it. Same with romantic relationships - you find the best "fit." And same with pillows -- you find kind that works best for you. Right?

Well, until recently, I assumed that worked with pillows too. But I was wrong.

I'm far more picky about my pillows than my clothing. And I did have a pretty great pillow. But when offered a FREE Comfort Select pillow, I was curious and ok, a little greedy. Wouldn't life be even better with TWO awesome pillows?

Comfort Select pillows are tailored for each person. Once I agreed to write about the pillow, I went through a 20 minute conversation with a very nice Comfort Select pillow specialist who asked me questions about what position I tend to sleep in most often, what kind of pillow firmness I like, allergies, if I sleep warm and if I have neck problems. (There were probably some other questions I can't recall right now.) Based on my answers, Comfort Select was able to create the pillow for me.

It took a few weeks to make. And when I got the pillow, I was very excited. The first night with my pillow had me tossing and turning a bit. But it only took me a night to get used to it. (Usually it takes about 3-4 nights to get used to any change in my sleep environment. And that change can be something like sleeping with a heavier blanket or with the air purifier at a higher or lower setting.

I've been using the pillow ever since. Sometimes I sleep warm. With the old pillow, I'd often wake up sweaty. The new pillow wicks away the moisture, so I don't wake up with a whole side of my face touching damp pillow. (That's kind of a gross way to wake up.)

I've even begun taking my pillow with me on trips. I love my customized pillow. And since there are silver strands in the pillow to combat dust mites and other allergens, I wake up feeling better (aka less nasty headaches) each morning too!

If you are a person with allergies or any sort of neck issues, you'll definitely want to check into this kind of pillow.

The pillow was given to me for free by Comfort Select. In return I wrote a review.